Lee B. Walker Guardian Award

Each year, the Austin Humane Society is honored to present the Lee B. Walker Guardian Award. The award is given annually to an individual, organization or business that has gone above and beyond to positively impact the lives of animals. The award is named in memory of former AHS Board member Lee B. Walker, whose dedication and passion made a lasting impact on the lives of the people and animals of the Austin Humane Society.

His legacy will live on forever in our mission.

Past Recipients:

2006: Jim Bagan and Roger Beasley Mazda South; Applied Materials and its employees; Keith Benson and Triple Crown Dog Academy; Toby Futrell and the City of Austin
2007: KVUE Austin; Karen Medicus and Ed Sayres, ASPCA; Dr. Roy Smith and Sheila Smith; Neenah Whitehead
2008: Missy McCullough, ATA
2009: Dr. Greg Biehle and Dr. Erin Homburg, Brykerwood Vet Clinic
2010: Jane Shode, Founder, UT Campus Cat Coalition
2011: Kaitlyn Whiteside, AHS Humane Hero
2012: Leo and Lt. Brooks Frederick, Canine Arson Detection Team, Austin Fire Department
2013: Senator Kirk Watson
2014: Longtime AHS volunteer Kathy St. Cyr
2015: Roger Beasley Mazda
2016: Emancipet
2017: The brave men and women of the Austin Fire Department and Fire Chief Rhoda Mae Kerr
2018: Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
2019: Dr. Kerpsack and Dr. Beardsley, Founders of CTVSEH
2020: H-E-B
2021: Longtime AHS volunteer Ron Bailey
2022: Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
2023: Jim Spencer, Edward Flores & their beloved dog, Kaxan